Events

Upcoming Events

Tuesday, July 3: AoT SC Organizers’ Goodbye (Melbourne, FL)

Thursday, July 5: AoT SC (Santa Cruz, CA)

Tuesday, July 10: AoT SEA (Seattle, WA)

Wednesday, July 11: AoT Tucson (Tucson, AZ)

Wednesday, July 11: AoT Lansing (Lansing, MI)

Monday, July 16: AoT LA (Los Angeles, CA) Astronomy Week!

Tuesday, July 17: AoT ATX (Austin, TX)

Tuesday, July 17: AoT LA (Los Angeles, CA) Astronomy Week!

Tuesday, July 17: AoT EDI (Edinburgh, UK)

Wednesday, July 18: AoT BR (Baton Rouge, LA)

Thursday, July 19: AoT Davis (Davis, CA)

Thursday, July 19: AoT BCS (Bryan/College Station, TX)

Monday, July 23: AoT State College #16 (State College, PA)

Wednesday, July 25: AoT South Bay (San Jose, CA)

Monday, July 30: AoT Chicago (Chicago, IL)

Monday, July 30: AoT Leiden (Leiden, The Netherlands)

Tuesday, July 31: AoT San Francisco (San Francisco, CA)

Thursday, August 2: AoT SC (Santa Cruz, CA)

Wednesday, August 8: AoT NYC (Brooklyn, NY)

Thursday, August 16: AoT South Bay (San Jose, CA)

Sign up for our email newsletter for more announcements!

List of Past Events

 

What to Expect

Astronomy on Tap is not your typical science lecture. Each event features several short accessible, engaging science presentations on topics ranging from planets around other stars to supermassive black holes to the beginning of the Universe.

Presenters are your neighbors, who also happen to be scientists and educators at local research and educational institutions or their collaborators and friends who are visiting or passing through town. This is their chance to share their most recent research results, experiment with new ways of explaining their explorations of the Universe, and to be honest about which over-hyped results are complete and utter bull sh–.

We strive for a relaxed and informal atmosphere (okay, fine, the booze helps), and there is always lots of time to ask questions and interact with the presenters and other scientists who inevitably tag along for the beer.

Most events have games and prizes to test and reward your new-found knowledge, and you could even win Neil Tyson’s Trash Treasures (TM) in NYC! But don’t tell Neil Tyson lest he wise up and change the lock on his office door. 😉