Recent/Upcoming Events

Thursday, November 5:  Virtual AoT Santa Cruz 6:30 PM US Pacific time (Santa Cruz, CA)

Tuesday, November 10: AoT Jena 19h CET Launch Event!

Tuesday, November 10: AoT Triangle (Durham, NC) ONLINE

Thursday, November 12: AoT BR (Baton Rouge, LA) ONLINE

Thursday, November 12: AoT Seattle (Seattle, WA) ONLINE

Wednesday, November 18: AoT BCS #30 (Bryan, TX) ONLINE

Thursday, November 19: AoT Cambridge (Cambridge, UK) ONLINE

Monday, November 23: AoT LA (Los Angeles, CA) ONLINE

Friday, November 27: AoT Taipei (Taiwan)

Monday, November 30: AoT Oslo (Norway) ONLINE

Tuesday, December 1: AoT CPH (Copenhagen, Denmark) @ Huset

Tuesday, December 1: AoT Triangle (Durham, NC) ONLINE

Thursday, December 3:  Virtual AoT Santa Cruz 6:30 PM US Pacific time (Santa Cruz, CA)

Thursday, December 10: AoT Seattle (Seattle, WA) ONLINE

Monday, December 14: AoT Cambridge (Cambridge, UK) ONLINE

Monday, December 14: AoT LA (Los Angeles, CA) ONLINE

Tuesday, December 15: AoT Gothenburg (Gothenburg, Sweden) ONLINE

Wednesday, December 16: AoT BCS #31 (Bryan, TX, USA) ONLINE

Thursday, December 17: AoT BR (Baton Rouge, LA) ONLINE

Thursday, December 17: AoT London 7pm GMT (London, UK) ONLINE

Friday, December 18: AoT Taipei (Taiwan)

Monday, January 11: AoT LA (Los Angeles, CA) ONLINE

Wednesday, January 20: AoT BCS #32 (Bryan, TX) ONLINE

Thursday, January 28: AoT Kingston (Kingston, ON, CA): ONLINE

Friday, January 29: AoT Taipei (Taiwan)

*Note: Your faithful HQ webmaster is horrible at time zones so please double check these, and/or assume they are wrong.

Sign up for our email newsletter for more announcements!

List of Past Events

What to Expect

Astronomy on Tap is not your typical science lecture. Each event typically features two or more accessible, engaging science presentations on topics ranging from planets around other stars to supermassive black holes to the beginning (and end) of the Universe.

Presenters are your neighbors, who also happen to be scientists and educators at local research and educational institutions or their collaborators and friends who are visiting or passing through town. This is their chance to share their most recent research results, experiment with new ways of explaining their explorations of the Universe, and to be honest about which over-hyped results are complete and utter bull sh–.

We strive for a relaxed and informal atmosphere (okay, fine, the booze helps), and there is always lots of time to ask questions and interact with the presenters and other scientists who inevitably tag along for the beer.

Most events have games and prizes to test and reward your new-found knowledge, and you could even win Neil Tyson’s Trash Treasures (TM) in NYC! But don’t tell Neil Tyson lest he wise up and change the lock on his office door. 😉