Events

Upcoming Events

Friday, March 10: AoT T.O. (Toronto, ON, Canada)

Monday, March 13: AoT LA (Los Angeles, CA)

Tuesday, March 14: AoT Lansing (Lansing, MI)

Wednesday, March 15: AoT Tucson (Tucson, AZ)

Thursday, March 16: AoT CU (Urbana, IL)

Thursday, March 16: AoT CO (Boulder, CO)

Monday, March 20: AoT ABQ (Albuquerque, NM) Launch event!

Monday, March 20: AoT Chicago (Chicago, IL)

Tuesday, March 21: AoT ATX #29 (Austin, TX)

Friday, March 24: AoT Seattle (Seattle, WA) Two Orbit-versary!

Monday, March 27: AoT Leiden (the Netherlands) Launch event!

Tuesday, March 28: AoT D.C. (Washington, D.C.)

Thursday, March 30: AoT New York at the Way Station (Brooklyn, NY)

Wednesday, April 5: AoT SB (Santa Barbara, CA)

Sign up for our email newsletter for more announcements!

List of Past Events

What to Expect

Astronomy on Tap is not your typical science lecture. Each event features several short accessible, engaging science presentations on topics ranging from planets around other stars to supermassive black holes to the beginning of the Universe.

Presenters are your neighbors, who also happen to be scientists and educators at local research and educational institutions or their collaborators and friends who are visiting or passing through town. This is their chance to share their most recent research results, experiment with new ways of explaining their explorations of the Universe, and to be honest about which over-hyped results are complete and utter bull sh–.

We strive for a relaxed and informal atmosphere (okay, fine, the booze helps), and there is always lots of time to ask questions and interact with the presenters and other scientists who inevitably tag along for the beer.

Most events have games and prizes to test and reward your new-found knowledge, and you could even win Neil Tyson’s Trash Treasures (TM) in NYC! But don’t tell Neil Tyson lest he wise up and change the lock on his office door. 😉